Thank you for considering nominating a colleague for a Chapter award. Below you will find a list of the awards and previous award winners.  You will find the submission form at the bottom of the page or click here to jump to that section.

David W. Van Gelder distinguished Service Award—This award is to recognize and honor those rare and dedicated individuals who have contributed substantially to the advancement of the Chapter. (given bi-annually on odd numbered years)

Dr. David Van Gelder served as AAP President from 1976-77. During his tenure, the Academy finalized a voluntary continuing education and assessment program leading to recertification and energized efforts to develop child health planning at state and local levels. In addition, Dr. Van Gelder oversaw changes that were made within the Academy’s internal structure to increase efficiency and enhance services for members. He was a vocal advocate for creating a national immunization policy. Under his presidency, the Academy adopted a statement advocating such a policy.

Past Award Recipients:

2021 Stacy Hall, RN & Jimmy Guidry, MD 2017 Diana Bienvenu, MD 2015 Joseph Bocchini, MD
2013 H. Jay Collinsworth, MD 2011 Stewart Gordon, MD 2009 Michael Judice, MD
2007 Keith Perrin, MD 2004 Jean Takenaka, MD 2002 John Lewy, MD
2000 Louis Trachtman, MD 1998 Gary Peck, MD 1996 Bettina C. Hilman, MD
1994 Wallace Dunlap, MD 1992 Larry Hebert, MD 1990 David Van Gelder,MD

Charles M Vanchiere Award—This award is given to recognize special efforts to improve the health of children in Louisiana by increasing their access to needed health care. (given annually)

Dr. Charles M. “Buzzy” Vanchiere was a private pediatrician in Lake Charles, Louisiana, for nearly 30 years, and a tireless advocate for children’s services. He pushed the private sector to accept Medicaid patients when the state first allowed them to bill for screening and diagnostic services. He was president of the LA Chapter of AAP at the time that the federal State Child Health Insurance Legislation was enacted and he was a major force in assuring that Louisiana took advantage of this new opportunity to cover children. He served on medical committees in his parish, in the state and for the American Academy of Pediatrics. He organized and led the Pediatric Society of Southwest Louisiana and the LSU Pediatric Alumni Association. He chaired the Pediatric Advisory Committee for Medicaid and was a member of the Blue Cross Physician Executive Committee. He was also active in the “Children’s Miracle Network” and received it “Miracle Makers” award in 1995 for outstanding service to that program. Dr. Vanchiere died in the year 2000 at the young age of 60 and the Chapter established this award in his name to honor outstanding child advocates.

Past Award Recipients:

2022 Stewart Gordon, MD 2021 Louis H. Bevrotte, MD 2020 John A Vanchiere, MD
2018 Eduardo Hernandez, MD 2017 John A. Vanchiere, MD, FAAP 2015 Donald Mack, MD
2011 Steve Bienvenu, MD 2010 Jimmy Guidry, MD 2009 Steven Spedale, MD
2008 J. Ruth Kennedy & Kay Gaudet 2007 Geoffrey Nagle, PhD, MPH, LCSW 2006 William Gill, MD &
Joan Wightkin, PhD
2005 Gov. Kathleen Blanco 2004 Lt. Gov. Mitch Landrieu 2003 Sen. John T. “Tom” Schedler
2002 David Hood
2000 Rep. Shirley Bowler  

Elizabeth E. Cassinelli Award—This award is given in recognition of special efforts relevant to women’s careers in pediatrics-at academic institutions, as basic scientist or clinicians, and in the private sector. (given bi-annually on odd numbered years)

Dr. Libby Cassinelli was a general pediatrician who spent her career in Shreveport/Bossier City. She was in private practice, then worked at Barksdale AFB where she practiced until her retirement, and closed her career at the LSU Med School in Shreveport. During her career, she organized the NW LA Pediatric Society, served in every office, and personally arranged up to 4 lectureships annually for the members. She worked in the community for children’s services and was well known for her advocacy for women in medicine.

Past Award Recipients:

2021 Roberta C. Vicari, MD 2017 Bonnie Desselle, MD 2015 Martha Pope, MD
2013 Sue Berry, MD 2011 Jane El-Dahr, MD 2009 Barbara Golden, MD
2007 Henrynne A. Louden, MD 2005 Katherine M, Knight, MD 2003 Carolyn Duncan, MD
2000 Bettina Hilman, MD 1998 A. Joanne Gates, MD 1996 Sheila Moore, MD

Outstanding Pediatric Society—This award recognizes the president of the regional society for the society’s outstanding programs or accomplishments. (given bi-annually on odd numbered years)

Past Award Recipients:

2017 Northwest Pediatric Society 2015 Northwest Pediatric Society 2013 Northwest Pediatric Society
2011 Baton Rouge Pediatric Society 2009, 2007  Acadiana Pediatric Society 2005 Greater New Orleans Pediatric Society
2003 Acadiana Pediatric Society 2000  Baton Rouge Pediatric Society 1996, 1994, 1922 Greater New Orleans Pediatric Society
1990 Northeast Pediatric Society    

Please complete the following form and hit “submit” to complete the nomination.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This